Updates!

I feel like I haven’t seen you guys in ages! What’s been happening? >.>

I guess I should probably ramble at this blank page until I reach enough paragraphs that it feels like a good sized update. I haven’t done that in a while, have I? Yikes. It’s been all business all the time around here. Bo-ring.

The Wedding

The wedding happened. Yay! Basically every single aspect went wrong, up to and including there being a yellowjacket on my face (I’m super afraid of bees, wasps, hornets, and other stinging buzzing insects) while I was saying my vows, but we got through it. And the nightmares afterward have more or less trailed off — it seems my brain has decided that that was a nightmare so we need to undergo nightly boot camp training sessions preparing us for the next time that happens. Efforts to convince it that it won’t happen again, ever, really, I promise are slowly showing fruition, however. I expect to be able to sleep soundly by next week.

Let’s talk about something else.

Youtube confidence lessons

I’ve been watching Emma Caulfield’s video blog, Essnemma, a lot lately. I love how confident and quirky and at home with herself she is. I think what I need a lot of the time is more confidence. It’s difficult for me with the anxiety to really feel sure of myself, but if I can project the idea that I’m sure of myself, I think things will work out better. It’s awful having to fight off both anxiety and someone else doubting your plan at the same time.

During the week leading up to the wedding I managed to avoid any major meltdowns ๐Ÿ™‚ But I kept having this detached feeling, like nothing going on around me was real. So maybe it was the cumulative stress pushing me past anxiety to the other side? I’m not sure. It did help tremendously to have people around me that I knew could handle most of the logistics while I focused on keeping myself relatively calm.

Adventures in authordom

So I put together a website. I keep trying to think of some way to have an official launch party but anything I can do locally would see 0 attendance and anything I can think of via the interwebs seems kind of sub-par. Any thoughts out there? Otherwise I might just make an official announcement across my various blogs and Facebook and be done with it.

Also not official yet, I’m looking into making a physical appearance and possibly book signing at Pandoraconย this October. This of course means there will be a physical copy of Wolfbound available at that time and, probably, from the website after that. Maybe I should do some kind of contest and give away signed copies? I’m not sure what I’m doing yet, and I’m not announcing anything on the other site until it’s finalized, which makes sense because the site itself isn’t officially launched yet, so there’s nobody listening, so to speak. But if you want to meet me in person, go to Pandoracon, basically. I will, at the very least, be attending as part of Radiant Vanguard.

Radiant Vanguard

The website for RV is blocked at work, so I can’t write updates like this on my lunch break, which is frustrating. But this week I plan to debut a new feature (not weekly! I’m not that much of a masochist!) on the RV main blog, and in the near future there will be activity on the RV Gaming blog, as we’ve put together a new gaming group and are just hashing out when to play and getting character sheets together. So stay tuned. I’m also trying to get some graphic design elements together to make the brand a little more clearly defined ๐Ÿ™‚

As for the costuming, well… in a recent update I mentioned my sewing machine kind of exploded, and I’ve yet to get back on the horse of stitching. I have one more outfit I want to make for Pandora, and then a couple more outfits I want to make by next year’s Empire Symposium in April, so I’ll be back at it soon, but there’s a few weeks of non-sewing updates queued up for the Sunday column there to tide me over.

Yeah that looks pretty long. Sorry I mostly have been talking about other sites. I’ll get some decons written up this weekend so we’ll be back on our more regular schedule ๐Ÿ™‚ I have some RSS Quickies fodder saved up, too.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Updates!

  1. Firedrake says:

    I don’t know much about confidence-building stuff but I think one general principle is acting as though the thing you want is already true. Nothing wrong with being a bit detached, I think. (But I’m horribly unemotional by many people’s standards.)

    I got married earlier this year, but it was all very small-scale and friendly so basically non-stressful.

Leave a Reply

