RSS Quickies: Fashion sense

Need a go-to style that will have you looking polished and out the door in seconds?

Yes! Absolutely!

Try pairing a silky top in an eye-catching jewel tone with a statement necklace in complementary colors. It’s an easy outfit that’s stylish and impactful with little effort–plus this combo works just as well with skirts, denim, or shorts.

…What’s a jewel tone? What complements jewel tones? Wait, is that boiling down to “solid top, jeans, necklace”? That’s ‘impactful’?

Maybe I’m missing something. I bet the full article has images.

… $68 dollars for a shirt?

This entry was posted in RSS Quickies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RSS Quickies: Fashion sense

  1. Firedrake says:

    As far as I can tell, “jewel tones” tends to mean “high saturation, low luminance”. I.e. the opposite of pastels. If the surface texture of the material has a bit of complexity to give the illusion of depth, so much the better.

    Complementary colours — didn’t you talk about this a while back? I have a vague recollection of it but now I’ve forgotten the details. Anyway, just rotate the hue 180 degrees (or if you’re using a total of three colours, put them at 120 from each other).

    • yamikuronue says:

      Wait, so they literally mean complementary like the color wheel and not, for example, this nebulous idea of “matching”?

      • Firedrake says:

        I don’t want to make any claim about what these specific people might mean, but as far as I can tell it’s usually “something that stands out against the background without clashing horribly”. So perhaps the 120 degree rather than the 180 if the colours are vivid enough.

        It’s tricky because I do this sort of thing by eye (I joke that I’m a “colour consultant” but it seems actually to produce good results) and I’m trying to codify how I work it out.

        • yamikuronue says:

          It’s the idea of “clashing” vs “matching” that gets me. Plenty of people on TV wear things that I didn’t think would go together, but apparently they match rather than clash because…. I don’t know. It’s illogical >.>

          Then again, most of my necklaces are predominantly metallic colored with maybe a small gemstone as an accent, so they’d all probably work with anything. Which was the point. If the gemstone happens to match the small gemstone earrings I’m wearing, there we go, coordinated. Right?

          • Firedrake says:

            My rule of thumb is that similar things clash more than distant things. A shirt and trousers in greeny-blue and bluey-green look odder together than in red and blue.

            If the gem is the same colour as the underlying garment, it gets lost. If it’s similar, it clashes. If it’s HUGE, it looks gaudy whatever colour it is. If it’s small and different colour, it usually works quite well.

  2. Firedrake says:

    A thing that popped up elsewhere that might be of interest. It’s intended for game programmers, but I think #6 in particular should be of use to technically-minded costume designers…

    http://devmag.org.za/2012/07/29/how-to-choose-colours-procedurally-algorithms/

Leave a Reply

