RSS Quickies: How to be more patient

ooh, I haven’t done one of these in a while!

How To Be More Patient, courtesy of Real Simple Magazine. As many of you may have guessed, I’m not a patient person, so I could use some advice. Let’s see what we’ve got:

Chew Your Food Slowly

People who consume food more slowly—and ignore those “I’m hungry” urges—eat less overall than those who devour their meals. Research has found that impatient people are more likely to be overweight, possibly because of their inability to delay gratification at the dinner table.

…but… if I were able to take my time on things like eating… I’d already BE patient.

Experience Different Cultures

When you travel the world, you find out that many cultures aren’t as punctual and perfectionistic as ours, and encountering those perspectives can mellow you.

Oh yes, let me just fire up my hot-air balloon and put in for 80 days off work, shall I?

(perfectionistic, so not a word)

Laugh at Yourself

I’m a newspaper columnist and my husband is a politician, so both of us must be willing to converse with strangers when we’re eating out or shopping for groceries. In the rare moments when people are obnoxious (like the time a woman told me that I needed to get Botox), I can get impatient. But instead of being rude to the person, I formulate an internal joke, usually at my own expense.

I’m not sure that’s the same thing at all… you’re not waiting for anything there, you’re dealing with rude people. But I guess we call that ‘patient’ too? But it’s kind of not. It’s kind of more… ‘kind’?

Stop Imagining the Ideal

I often grow impatient when I want to be in control of a situation. To avoid getting antsy when I am writing and can’t find specific words for my thoughts, I try to practice self-compassion. I tell myself that I’m not going to quit even if I become frustrated. I’ll say out loud, “You’re not perfect, but that’s OK. Writing can be a messy process, and it’s not ideal, but you can handle it.”

That’s… also not really impatient so much as anxious? You can’t conquer an anxiety disorder with logic, though I suppose the normal kind maybe can be. But the opposite of impatient is not compassionate, it’s patient, which is what the article is meant to be about, but here we’re talking about being kind to yourself, so…. I mean, it’s not the same thing at all.

That was not helpful. Another strike for Real Simple.

This entry was posted in Musings, RSS Quickies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RSS Quickies: How to be more patient

  1. Firedrake says:

    Impatience for me means becoming annoyed by things or interactions that are slow. Two ways of fixing that occur: improve the interaction, or remove the feeling of annoyance.

    Since I didn’t like my temper, I edited myself to remove it. But this doesn’t seem to be an option for everyone.

Leave a Reply

