Decon Vs: Introduction

Greetings, loyal reader! Weekends on Raven Wings are now going to feature a guest segment by Chaos called Decon Vs. 

Hello. This is Chaos in the first of (hopefully) many critiques. Now, I’m going to get a few things out of the way before I get into the format for this first bit of review and critique.

Firstly, I love anime. Pretty much loved the medium even before I realized it existed. The first show I ever saw to completion was the American version of Ronin Warriors. I liked how it seemed different than anything else I had seen at the time. It was drawn well, the characters looked unique and people had big attacks that they’d use to win the fight and they were always cool to look at. Since then I’ve seen several series, from older stuff like Ranma 1/2, to newer things like Star Driver and a good deal in between. It’s with this love and interest that I wanted to start doing things like this…well that and Yami’s prodding that I should go ahead whenever I thought it’d just be silly.

Secondly, I don’t want this to just be me saying things into the internet. If people have opinions, suggestions on things I should work on or anything that I might have missed, just go ahead and give a comment. I will ask that you not spoil anything that I haven’t gone over yet. Some people might not have seen the show and I’d like to not ruin any plot surprises.

Alright, with that out of the way, let’s start. Now, like I said before, I’ve seen a LOT of anime, so when I was trying to think of where to start I had a lot of ideas. So, I decided I’d do a comparison. And I decided to start with a Shonen Sports series. The Shonen Sports genre (At least my definition, I’m not sure if there’s an official one) tells stories that are about an individual, usually on a team, and his adventures in trying to become the best at the given sport. They usually have a good balance of characters, each with specific skills, but unlike other genres it tends to stay within the realms of physically possible. I say usually, because a lot of these shows tend to dramatize it and make it a little more extreme than the source sport. For this first comparison, I thought I’d go with two shows that are a famous and infamous in this regard: and those are Eyeshield 21 and Prince of Tennis.

For the sake of this not taking over 10 years to go over every single episode of both, I’m going to break this up into the story arcs of each series. I will watch a couple of episodes of each and give my thoughts and analysis of a)The main character, b)the supporting cast, and c)the overall feel of the story thus far. I will be trying to keep this as unbiased as possible and just give my thoughts on what the series gives me and not just blast one show in favor of the other.

To give a little bit of introduction Eyeshield 21 is the story of Sena Kobayakawa, a high-school freshman who becomes the secret weapon of the football team. Prince of Tennis is the story of Ryoma Echizen, a…high school freshman who…becomes the secret weapon of the tennis team.

Yeah, I know, but believe me, there’s a lot different between these two shows.

Other than being two completely different sports.

Here’s hoping you’ll all follow along and enjoy the ride.

This entry was posted in Decon Vs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Decon Vs: Introduction

  1. Gravel says:

    Yay Prince of Tennis! That was totally the crack show I’d make every single visitor to my place watch at some point. Everyone was always skeptical, but they enjoyed it by the end.

Leave a Reply

