The spirit is willing…

I have so many ideas bursting out of my head on my daily commute that I end up feeling restless, excited, eager to work on things. There’s the secret project, soon to be debuted on my author website which is soon to be debuted; there’s the endless stream of costumes for Radiant Vanguard (I think I’ll make my own wig for Laika!), and parties to plan, and I need to update WordPress for both RV and my author site, and conventions to plan for, and a novel to write (I have a much better idea what I’m doing with this book now)….

But no sooner do I get out of the car than the wave of exhaustion hits me. I find myself with downtime or lunchtime at work and would rather hide under my desk waiting for the next emergency to break over me like a wave, the next frantic spurt of dam-building. I find myself preferring to sit on the couch and watch reality TV than even think about setting up my sewing machine (thankfully, we cancelled our cable, so instead I poke at the internet idly until bedtime). I find that rather than spring eagerly from bed in the morning, I’d rather go back to sleep and work be damned.

Friends, I am suffering from a terrible blight: burnout.

The past two weeks at work have been chaos, last-minute fixes and lulls in between where I can do nothing but wait to see if the latest fix is the last one. There’s a code freeze in place next week so if we don’t get things fixed now they won’t be for a good month. I don’t do so well with last-minute fixes, and this is wearing on me like nothing else 😦 I’ll be fine eventually, I know, but in the meantime, I want to do so many things I just don’t have the energy for.

It’s looking up though! Next week can’t possibly be as bad, what with the code freeze and all.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The spirit is willing…

  1. Firedrake says:

    Long working hours are a sign of management failure

    Oddly, managers rarely believe this.

    • yamikuronue says:

      My hours are capped to 40, as a contractor, they’re just stressful since I have to get everything done without going over hours 😦

Leave a Reply

