Conversations with my stomach

I’m trying to listen to my body more, trusting my body’s ability to self-regulate its own food choices (as outlined in the Health At Any Size movement). Today, my stomach has decided it’s a picky toddler.

Me: Alright, we’re at the snack bar. What do you want?

Body: Chocolate!

Me: Granted. Now, considering you’re actually hungry and that’s not going to fill you up, what would you like after the chocolate bar?

Body: …donuts?

Me: Will you want donuts after you eat a kit-kat?

Body:clearly repulsed by the idea I guess not…

Me: I didn’t think so. So what then?

Body: I dunno.

Me: Chex mix?

Body: nnn.

Me: Chips?

Body: Nnn.

Me: Tuna on crackers?

Body: Absolutely not. Fish is icky.

Me: Chips with salsa?

Body: …..maybe?

Me: That’s kind of messy anyway. Trail mix? You usually love trail mix

Body: Nn. Too much trail mix lately. Want something different.

Me:Growing desperate Frozen burrito?

Body: Blech, microwave food.

Me: If we have to walk back up here after you finish the kit-kat we’re going to be in pain all afternoon. Please, for the love of sanity, pick something.

Body: …..chips.

Me: Chips! I can do chips! All the chips!

Anyone else have weird conversations with their body parts?

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conversations with my stomach

  1. Firedrake says:

    I’m more likely to get frustrated. “Look, I’ve just had a sandwich, and a banana, and a lump of cheese. Will you just tell me what it is that you’re hungry for, and I’ll pour it in!”

    • yamikuronue says:

      I get that _all the time_. Oh, and my favorite: “The doctor says it’s really important to eat protein after surgery, so which of these seven high-protein snacks do you want?” “ICE CREAM.” “…that’s not… Fine. A little ice cream. Now what?” “not hungry.” @.@ I’m frankly surprised I healed up okay.

  2. Omskivar says:

    My problem is that, when I get really hungry, I also get really picky. If my husband and I are trying to find a place to go to dinner, and I’m really hungry, he basically has to lead me through the conversation (which will start with “I’m so hungry I’ll eat anything” and end with “Okay, so you don’t want to go to (giant list of restaurants), will this one make you happy?”).

Leave a Reply

