On fire drills

I’m used to anti-Contractor bigotry. I’m used to being treated like I’m inferior or a thief because I’m not on salary. It’s annoying to not have a laptop or access to wifi because I’m not trusted to not steal company secrets, but whatever, that’s just security. It’s doubly annoying to be required to go to company events but not get paid for that time because they only reimburse employees, but I can manage, I’ll just work late another day to make up for it.

It’s not cool that my name’s not on the fire safety roll call list, or that I don’t get company emails about fire safety. The IT department is something like half contractors and none of us were listed on the checklist each section leader had to ensure everyone was out of the building. Not. Cool.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On fire drills

  1. Firedrake says:

    Obviously your own contracting company takes care of that. 🙂

    At one place I worked, the contractors started hanging hot dogs over their desks until management put them on the evacuation roster.

    • yamikuronue says:

      Nice 🙂 I’ll have to remember that one.
      Of course, you’re probably fireproof anyway, judging by your handle ;P

Leave a Reply

