On RSS feeds and job interviews

So I had a great night last night ๐Ÿ˜€ Well, it was less great after I tried to mix alcohol and sewing and ended up hurting my fingers pretty bad and had to stop stitching to soak my hand in cold water, but then I had pie, so all in all, a win.

The reason for my merriment? Less than an hour after my second interview with a company, they extended a job offer. I haven’t accepted it yet, I’m trying to see if a second company will counter-offer, but one way or another I’ve got a job next month ๐Ÿ˜€

And of course I then forgot to do Dogs and Goddesses. This has been a really busy week for me; I’ve had numerous job interviews, I’ve launched Radiant Vanguard and am corralling the guys into making posts so I’m not the sole content creator for two (soon to be four) blogs worth of content (I’d have to quit my job to do that, and blogging only pays well once you become an internet celebrity), and I’ve been busy preparing for the Steampunk Empire Symposium, my new favorite convention (I was there at their inaugural year!).ย  I’ve got a ton of costume pieces to make, mostly coats for some reason. But now I’ll have the cash flow to do them properly so yay!

But that’s not why I’m really writing all this. This morning, I found out that my RSS reader of choice, Google Reader, is being discontinued in a few months. I have 156 subscriptions sorted into 10 folders (though not all are active, I’m terrible about pruning dead blogs from my reader), and I read from multiple computers and my phone, so I need a reader that lives in the cloud (where “the cloud” might mean “Agni” or it might mean someplace hosted) and can be accessed through a browser and Android, ideally with a quick way to tell if there’s new posts (like Reader’s titlebar or Chrome plugins). Any of you use something that isn’t going to be gone in six months? Any recommendations?

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On RSS feeds and job interviews

  1. Alex Jones says:

    From reading WordPress blogs seems many people are upset about the demise of this tool. I have never used it.

  2. Firedrake says:

    Congratulations on employment!

    Do you have a cloudy email solution? Because the thing that’s worked best for me is rss2email, which turns each feed entry into a separate email message – which you can then filter, prioritise, do whatever you like to do with email.

Leave a Reply

