Christmas Songs day 11: Last Christmas

What can I say, I’m a sucker for 80’s pop hits.

The song went platinum in the UK, selling more than “Wake me up before you go-go” (which went platinum in the US but only gold in the UK), so you could probably say this is their most popular single, though it doesn’t compare to George Micheal’s later solo career.

I’m not really sure why I like it so much; it seems to be nothing special on paper, but the song is, in my opinion, extraordinarily well executed. Compare, for example, with a dud of a 90’s pop christmas song, N’sync’s “Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays”

There’s a hint of interesting syncopation in the chorus, but otherwise it’s technically bland, lacking altogether the interesting harmonies that characterize Last Christmas.

And of course, the ubiquitous Glee version exists:

Notice they do it “acapella-style” — there’s instruments but also vocalizations. However, the rampant sexualization and solo-ization of their arrangements make it sound more like the singer is trying to win back the former lover by playing hard to get than actually rejecting them. The sustained “show-off” notes, however, make the song harder to listen to for me. I just want the leads to shut up so I can hear the background singers, you know?

Who here likes mashups? I can’t get enough Gangnam Style this year:

It falls apart by the chorus, but it made me smile.

 

This entry was posted in Christmas Music Special, Deconstructions, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Songs day 11: Last Christmas

  1. Firedrake says:

    “one true media” just makes me think of EBOWF… and I think what you’re talking about with the glee version is close to what I mean by being a “sucker for harmony”. I haven’t heard much of that showoff style of singing, and for me it distracts and detracts from the business of the song just as much as one of those generic Stock-Aitken-Waterman productions. I want to be able to hear everything, and to pick out particular lines I want to listen to, just as I would with a classical piece.

  2. Pingback: Deconstruction Round Up, December 14th 2012 « The Slacktiverse

Leave a Reply

