Christmas Songs Day 7: Christmas Wrapping

I had this song on a CD as a kid, and I adored it. One day I told mom, “This song reminds me of you, listen to the lyrics real close okay?”

Of course, silly me, expected her to listen past the first two words:

Bah humbug!

She got mad at me for “calling her a Bah Humbug”. I had to practically force her to at least listen to the rest of the first couple verses:

“Bah humbug!” No, that’s too strong,
‘Cause it is my favorite holiday
But all this year’s been a busy blur
Don’t think I have the energy

To add to my already mad rush
Just ’cause it’s ’tis the season.
The perfect gift for me would be
Completions and connections

I of course thought of my mother, the overworked single mom who always fought against my desire for over-the-top Christmas celebrations with a sense of dread at finding the time and energy to make it happen. I wanted to let her know I understood, and the song ends happily so see, it’s a common feeling! She and I never did communicate well…

Anyway, the song is a catchy, upbeat look at modern Christmas celebrations for the working, single woman of today:

Or, well, okay, of the 80’s. The song was written in 1981, but to be fair, what songs newer than the 80’s actually are liked by anyone?

It’s just old enough to have been covered a small handful of times, none of which I’d heard before today. Apparently the Spice Girls covered it, but it wasn’t popular enough to make it to YouTube. Never fear, I tracked it down at some sketchy Italian site!

Of course, being about friendship and girl power, they change “Christmas by myself this year” to “Christmas with my mates this year”. According to wiki, Melanie B wasn’t in the song due to being pregnant, and Victoria Beckham was… also pregnant? Or also absent. Not quite sure, the sentence is ambiguous. Having only two spices in the mix definitely gives a slightly different feel to the song than their usual fare.

(Holy shit, I just had an epiphany — she got Christmas sex! That’s the “very happy ending”! Wow, it’s weird to listen to stuff you liked as a kid, isn’t it?)

There’s also a jewish version by Save Ferris:

Oddly enough, the first couple verses of that sound like me this year. “Oh my god, it’s November! AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!”.

(Holy fuck, as I write this it’s fucking DECEMBER. What.)

Other thoughts on the jewish version:

  • The hell would you go to the MALL?! In Christmas season!?
  • “One for each. Not eight.” 😀
  • I wonder if Chaos will let me make latkas?
  • Sometimes I forget that Kaballah was the Scientology of the 90’s, and Madonna was its Tom Cruise.

Like every other song on my list, there’s a Glee version that, in my opinion, adds nothing:

And, fun surprise, there’s a version by the cast of Wicked, one of my favorite musicals (don’t read too much into that, it’s a long list), which is apparently on this album but not anywhere else.

 

 

This entry was posted in Christmas Music Special, Deconstructions, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Songs Day 7: Christmas Wrapping

  1. Pingback: Deconstruction Round Up, December 14th 2012 « The Slacktiverse

Leave a Reply

