Easily Amused ch 32-33

Chapter Thirty-two

Apparently during the week we skipped, Lola continued to blow off Brother Jasper. Meanwhile, Hubert is fascinated by the diaries of Lola’s aunt, who sounds actually kind of interesting. Have no fear, however, he rapidly resumes dickhood:

“That Ryan guy again? […] What are you doing with him, Lola?”

Whatever she damn well wants to, because it’s her heart and you’re not entitled to it?

“He’s just so slick. The whole time I was talking to him all I could wonder was, what’s his game? You hardly know him. Take it from me — you can think you know a person, and it can turn out they have a whole other side you know nothing about.[…]”

He was comparing Ryan to Kelly? Please.

Yeah, I mean, Hubert knew Kelly for years and years and refused to believe she was being openly abusive to him, whereas Lola’s know Ryan for a whole two weeks and refuses to pay attention to anything but “omg hot”, clearly the two are nothing alike.

“Belinda said she looked up his property tax records and they were paid late three years in a row. Not only that, but–”

“I think Belinda should mind her own business.”

See? Refuses to listen.

I went upstairs and got ready for my date, starting from bare skin and working outward.

Is it just me, or is that an incredibly awkward sentence?

I loved Hubert, really I did, but I wasn’t up to hearing more penny-ante bad news about Ryan before my date. I was a big girl and a pretty good judge of character

So laughably wrong

I appreciated his concern, but he’d have to trust me on this.

And yet the sentiment is the right one. It’s her life, her heart, her mistakes to make. I just wish she wasn’t such a horrible person and Ryan wasn’t such an obvious liar. It kind of makes the sentiment feel cheapened, as though the moral is that the kind of women who insist on making their own choices in love are exactly the ones who should be controlled the most for their own good.

Chapter thirty-three

Everyone knows Ryan at the Palmer House, a super fancy restaurant. He claims to be a regular with clients and his parents know the owners. I suspect his parents are the owners maybe? Mooching off daddy to impress a date?

Ryan did most of the talking, telling me about some of his most recent trips and a few minor airport snafus […] At one point, I realized my mind was drifting. Pleasantly drifting. I emptied my glass, and before I could even set it down, our waiter was there to refill it.

Is it just me or is this a fucked-up pattern? Every date they have, she gets drunk and he talks about himself the whole time.

“Did you say you bought your car six months ago?”

“No, I said I got my car six months ago.” He took a sip of wine. “it’s leased. I find that leasing has tax advantages for me.”

Now I was confused. I thought for sure he said he bought it.

Well, let’s find out.  Quote from chapter thirteen:

“I only got it six months ago […] You wouldn’t believe how long it took to get the car from the dealer. They tried to get me to buy one off the lot, but I insisted on custom ordering everything. I figured if I was going to spend that kind of money, I should get what I wanted.”

While he didn’t technically say he bought it, not only was he implying that he had, he also sounds like a total douche. Custom-ordering the specific car to lease? Can you say, pain in the ass?

“Lola,” he said, stretching my name beyond the boundaries of its two syllables. “Remember our plan to announce our faux engagement at your sister’s wedding?”

“Of course.” Man, this wine was good. Was this new bottle different than the previous one?

(Is he drugging her wine?)

“If you don’t have any objections, I’d like to propose to you tonight. Everyone always asks about the proposal, and I think it would make a great story.”

Oh dear.

This entry was posted in Deconstructions, Easily Amused and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Easily Amused ch 32-33

  1. Firedrake says:

    Yeah… I know we had this discussion after the first date, but I still feel uneasy about the wine and drunkenness here. And I know it’s a hard thing to do, but “I seem to be getting drunker faster than I expected to” is a thing worth watching out for in oneself…

    As a friend once said, never give advice to people in love. Either you’re wrong and they never forgive you, or you’re right and they never forgive you. Offering some basic safety tips – which anyone calling him/herself a grown-up really ought to know already – is about as much as I feel one can do beforehand. Being there afterwards is a whole separate matter.

  2. Jarred H says:

    I don’t like Ryan one bit. But this right here:

    “Belinda said she looked up his property tax records and they were paid late three years in a row. Not only that, but–”

    Creeps me out a little. Well-meaning friends who go snooping like this bother me. No matter how well-meaning they are.

    Is it just me or is this a fucked-up pattern? Every date they have, she gets drunk and he talks about himself the whole time.

    Very much so.

    While he didn’t technically say he bought it, not only was he implying that he had, he also sounds like a total douche. Custom-ordering the specific car to lease? Can you say, pain in the ass?

    With delusions of self-importance to boot!

    • yamikuronue says:

      My reaction was “…so he’s mildly fiscally irresponsible? big whoop” but now that I’m thinking about it, that is pretty creepy. Is that usually a matter of public record? Who DOES that? What could possibly have inspired Belinda to check his *tax records*?

    • Firedrake says:

      Ah, cultural blindness here – I have no idea how difficult or illegal it is to do that sort of research on someone in the USA. (In the UK it would be blatantly illegal.)

Leave a Reply

