Stuff that bugs me: music

You ever hear a song and have a thought and now you can’t not hear that? Yeah, I got a few of those.

You just gotta ignite the light and let it shine; just own the night like the Forth of July! Baby you’re a firework, come on show ’em what you’re worth!

Katy Perry, Firework

No, actually, I’m not a short lived yet beautiful ball of fire destined to self destruct for the enjoyment of others who will forget me moments later. I’m worth a lot more than that. I can think of many rock stars who fit that description though.

You moved to West LA or New York or Santa Fe or wherever to get away from me […] Looking for a two-ply Hefty bag to hold my love.

Train, Drive By

If a girl flees the state to get away from you, you must have seriously creeped her out. What’s the bag for, to hide the body?

Mouse: “The neighbors might think”

Wolf: “Baby, it’s bad out there.”

Mouse: “Say, what’s in this drink?!”

Wolf: “No cabs to be had out there”

-Baby it’s Cold Outside 

Seriously, this song is about date rape. I can’t listen to this song anymore without thinking of that. Bonus: when looking up the exact lyrics, I noticed the singer lines are Mouse and Wolf. Wow. Was this even intended to be romantic ever?

Here’s the thing: we started out friends. It was cool but it was all pretend. yeah-yeah, since you been gone.

You dedicated, you took the time; wasn’t long till I called you mine. Yeah-yeah, since you been gone.

Kelly Clarkson, Since You Been Gone

The refrain has nothing to do with the line before it. It makes no sense. It was all pretend since he’s been gone; it wasn’t long until she called him his since he’s been gone. No. English doesn’t work that way. We know what song we’re listening to, thanks, you don’t have to remind me every ten seconds.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! Stand a little taller!

Kelly Clarkson, Stronger

I hate that saying. Sometimes what doesn’t kill you leaves you with permanent scarring, PTSD, anxiety disorders…

I been waiting on the sunset, bills on my mindset, gotta admit they’re getting high: higher than my income, income’s breadcrumbs. I been trying to survive. The glow that the sun gets right around sunset helps me realize this is just a journey, drop your worries, you are gonna turn out fine, fine, oh-oh… but you gotta keep your head up!

Andy Grammer, Keep Your Head Up

No. Just no. I hate people like this. They’re drowning in debt and can’t find a way out so they just smile and say “Oh well! Life’ll figure it out” and sure enough, every fucking time, they get some inheritance or a promotion or something and things just work out and here I am trying to do things right and play by the rules and make ends meet week after week and nothing ever, EVER turns out fine if I don’t watch it carefully every second to ensure that it’s going according to plan. I turn my back and people get in car crashes, bills I swear I paid go into collections, I can’t get a loan I was counting on, an apartment is leased out from under me… Keeping my head up and letting my hair down won’t do shit. Life is hard and it sucks sometimes and you have to figure out what to DO about it. No amount of sunsets and aphorisms will solve your problems for you.

Okay this is going to a bitter place so I’m going to leave it for now.

This entry was posted in Musings, Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuff that bugs me: music

  1. Ž says:

    it’s incredibly hard to find love songs that aren’t all stalkery and creepy. I collect them, though. Songs with good lyrics are hard to find.

    All those people who play “Every breath you take” at their weddings. sheesh.

  2. bitwise says:

    On that last song, I was so distracted by the horrible rhymes that it took a couple of passes to even notice the message. I been waiting on the sunset, bills on my mindset? Seriously!? Not only does it not actually rhyme, using ‘mindset’ instead of ‘mind’ is so awkward and forced you wonder why he bothered trying to squeeze a rhyme out of it at all. And then it just gets worse…

    @Ž: I like to image that people play that song as a joke, just to see who’s paying attention.

Leave a Reply

