Guest Post: Fact Check: Abortion

The following was written by Chaos, my resident scientist. I noticed him getting incensed at his computer and encouraged him to write something 🙂 

So, I was looking at a blog entry that Yami had sent to me when I saw an odd ad at the side. It had what looked like a premature baby being held and a statement about a petition to help save the unborn by overturning Roe v. Wade. Now, for a little backstory on me, I went to school for several years in the field of biology before settling into what I’m doing now, so this got my interest. That and I read way too many comic books as a kid and the phrase ‘unborn’ sounds like some kinda fantasy monster or something. Anyway, I was a little interested, so I clicked to see what it was about. The first line was as follows:

Dear Pro-life American,

Tragically, almost 4,000 babies are aborted every day in our nation.

Now it’s a bit early, but I had to just stop there. I’m not sure exactly what triggered my responce (I’m in a Master’s program for Biomedical engineering, so my days are full of math equations, physics, and sometimes more math equations) But I immediatly looked at that number and went thought “Wow…that’s a REALLY high number. I wonder where they got that.” Seeing how I had a little time, I went to do research on it, seeing if I could find the actual numbers for how many abortions actually happen. I mean, it’s a medical procedure with risk factors. They’re small risk factors, but they’re there and with all the mixed issues with abortion there had to be SOME numbers on now many are done. Interestingly enough, you can find the statistics on mortality deaths from medical procedures on the CDC website and I came to find out that, while there are a lot of abortions per year, there hasn’t been any of THAT volume even at the highest. I looked back from 1970 to the most current year that the statistics are printed and the highest number of abortions doen were in the year of 1990 and that was 1,429,247.

Now, I’m not going to lie. That’s a lot of abortions, but here’s the thing: Divided out by the number of days in a year, that comes up to 3915.7 abortions a day. So the statement could be given as correct…if this was 1990. In fact, the rate has been decrecing pretty steadily since then. For a comparison, the last year that they have on file for the rates of abortion is 2008 and there were 825,564. THAT comes out to 2261.8 abortions per day. So…my question THEN becomes: “How can you say that we have close to the same number of abortions as in 1990 when it took me 15 minutes to find out how many there actually were?” I mean, that’s pretty inflammatory to say, isn’t it? Especially when you’re getting a petition together to overturn the decision that lets everyone able to legally have abortions. People who might be having medical problems that put the mother and child at risk if the pregnancy continues sometimes HAVE to have abortions. There’s also the case for rape victims, and those just not educated in safe sex or sex in general.

Anyway, after that initial part and a short letter from Rand Paul, asking people to protect the unborn and possibly donate to their cause. AFter that, there is shows exactly what will be sent to your congressman and senators. It begins as such:

Whereas: Because of Roe v. Wade, more than 56 million unborn children have died through abortion:

Now, I just have to stop here again because that’s just untrue. From my research (Which may be lacking, but I could not find any numbers for the more recent years) There has been a total of 48,932,474 abortions. Now, if I was feeling generous, I could round that off to 49 million. So, what they’re telling me is that between 2009 and 2012 there have been 15 7 MILLION abortions. So within 3 years, it’s gone from 825,564 a year to somewhere around 2 million a year? This…this just doesn’t make any sense to me. You can’t invoke ‘baby death’ for your cause and not even TRY to give accurate numbers. That’s dangerous and downright deciteful.

Whereas: In Roe v. Wade, the U.S. Supreme Court declared it could not resolve “the difficult question of when life begins” – and on the basis of this unresolved question, declared a new “right to abortion” based on a “right of privacy”

Alright, I’m not completely familiar with the case, but that was the big issue, so nothing too inaccurate there.

Whereas: The 14th Amendment to the Constitution states: “nor shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty or property, without due process of law, nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the law”

Now see…I was under the impression that this was because of slavery, not because of abortions. Sure, I could twist that to mean abortion. Also, considering that the cut part from the amendment says:

“All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States”

I think I could also twist it to say that it doesn’t matter. They’re not born yet so they have no rights…but I’m not because that’s cruel. I also wouldn’t say the first part because it’s taking the bit out that you want to make your point and I hate that. Moving on.

Whereas: In Roe, the Supreme Court admitted: “If . . . personhood [for the unborn] is established, the appellant’s case, of course, collapses, for the fetus’ right to life is then guaranteed specifically by the [Fourteenth] Amendment…” (Roe v. Wade [410 US 113 at 156-7])

Again, as far as I can tell, that’s accurate to the case and not much to correct.

Whereas: Science is clear that human life begins at conception when a new human being is formed;

Alright, human life may begin…it can also die, mutate, or just not take. There are plenty of people who try to get pregnant and they can’t because things aren’t working just right. Life’s actually a pretty complicated thing and not something you can say ‘begins’ at conception. We know that fetuses grow at that point, but it’s only speculation on what point conciousness starts and then we’re getting into “brain” and “mind” arguments and that’ll take all day. Honestly this one’s an opinion on my part and not really a fact.

Whereas: The American people oppose abortion-on-demand and want innocent human life to be protected especially when it is most defenseless;

And THIS is also an opinion. I don’t know about you, but I sure as hell don’t oppose abortion-on-demand. In fact, I’m fairly sure it’s more complicated that walking into a place, saying that you want an abortion, and then they just hook you up and get it done in an afternoon. It’s a major decision that I would never want someone to have to make without some time and support. Also, stop using ‘baby death’ to get people to do what you want. It’s annoying and demeaning.

Whereas: It belongs to Congress to resolve the question the Supreme Court said IT cannot resolve;

Technically, it’s the American people, as Congress is supposed to be serving their needs, but that’s a completely different problem that I’m not going into right now.

Whereas: A Life at Conception Act, by declaring that unborn children are persons legally entitled to constitutional protection, will overturn Roe v. Wade and ultimately rescue millions of unborn children from dying by abortion-on-demand;

See…this STILL doesn’t address the abortions where there was need for it, or rape victims, or people who would be unfit as parents and all KINDS of other issues. Outright banning abortions under this would cause just as many problems as you’d be trying to stop, and create some others.

Therefore: I urge you to cosponsor and cast every vote for a Life at Conception Act, and to do everything necessary to win ultimate passage in the United States Congress.

And that’s where you put in your information and it gets sent off. I really, REALLY hope this sort of thing doesn’t happen. I actually hope this gets a very small amount of people filling it out because someone pointed out the bad sides to this. I hope that people would be able to look at something, see that it might not add up and check over the work to see what’s actually going on. I’d hate to think that they’d get enough support and win because there was a bunch of knee-jerk reactions to lots of infant deaths being ‘reported’ and not actually looking for themselves, because that’s exactly how things get worse.

This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest Post: Fact Check: Abortion

  1. Brin says:

    THAT comes out to 2261.8 abortions per day.

    Why bother with the exaggeration? If you accept the premise that abortion is a terrible thing, 2300 (rounded) is still very bad.

    Whereas: Because of Roe v. Wade, more than 56 million unborn children have died through abortion:

    I could round [the correct number] off to 49 million. So, what they’re telling me is that between 2009 and 2012 there have been 15 MILLION abortions.

    Wait, what? 56 – 49 = 7. Where did the 15 come from?

    • James G. (Chaos) says:

      Yeah, ironically, that actually IS my bad. though that will teach me to try and do this sort of thing when tired. Though that still means that we would have had to be an extra million higher than the highest recorded amount of abortions in a year for three solid years, especially since there’s been a steady decline from the last 2 decades.

      Still, wish I had done a bit better on that ^_^

    • yamikuronue says:

      I’ve corrected the figures at his request. Sorry about not catching that during the editing/formatting!

Leave a Reply

