Update: More personal info

I may regret this, but while I have a spat of bravery, I’ve added a photo and most of my legal name to my About Me page, as well as linking directly to video blogs I experimented with a few months back. Future stalkers now have a photo, first name, and voice sample of me to go on. Oh god what have I done.

If in the future you’re reading this and those things aren’t present I panicked and took them down. I’m going to go back to doing work now and try to forget about the potential security leak. Please don’t comment on how fat I am. Thanks.

</insecure>

On a more serious note, I do try to hide much of my anxiety from the actual content of the blog, but I figure it should be okay to post my real thoughts from time to time in announcement-type posts. Eventually I’ll get used to this whole blogging thing and the nervousness will fade. Or I’ll get flamed so hard I never show my face in the blogosphere again. Whichever. Anyway, I’m well aware that my anxiety isn’t my audience’s problem, so they shouldn’t have to deal with it at every turn, but at the same time it’s part of who I am, so if I’m going to “reveal the real me” as all the experts advise, a little of it’s bound to sneak in from time to time. Let me know if you think I’ve gone overboard in either direction.

This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update: More personal info

  1. Jarred H says:

    On a more serious note,

    How is expressing concern about you personal safety not serious? Or expressing concern over how others might wrongfully judge you for your appearance, for that matter? (By the way, I think you look quite lovely in that picture.)

    Anyway, I’m well aware that my anxiety isn’t my audience’s problem, so they shouldn’t have to deal with it at every turn,

    I don’t think that talking about your anxiety on your own blog means that you’re “trying to make it our (your reader’s) problem.” And on the flip side, I’d like to suggest that there are a lot of people with anxiety on the Internet. Having a blog in which you talk about your anxiety and how you manage it might actually gain you readers. Just something to think about.

    I apologize if the above comes across as preachy. I’m just very big on encouraging other bloggers to find their own voice, no matter what that voice might “sound” like.

    • yamikuronue says:

      Thanks 😀 I guess I’m too hard on myself. I mostly just don’t want people to be turned off by my being weak-willed and nervous and whining about stuff all the time. Maybe one of these days I’ll bring myself to start writing about the numerous things that are wrong with me >.> If all my readers are as encouraging as you, maybe it’ll even be soon 🙂

  2. James G. says:

    Honestly, you’re always the hardest on yourself. As far as I’ve seen, you’ve been more discussive than whining.

Leave a Reply

