Life Lessons: On Change

I’m struggling with what to blog about lately. It’s easy enough to do the deconstructions once I manage to convince myself to pick up the book again, but I can’t do that five days a week and I really want to be posting something every day. Writing something, anything, every day seems to be key for keeping my writing muscles sharp, and I’m currently on a break from my novel project to let my beta readers catch up with my editing. However, the writing prompt posts seem to be the least visited of my blog posts, so I feel like they ought to be fairly few and far between — doing them for myself is useful but they don’t seem to offer much to my readers.

Anyway, the real point of the above paragraph is that I plan to start posting lessons I’ve learned from life and how I plan to apply them in the future. I have absolutely no idea if this will be useful to my readers or if I’ll come off as preachy or whatever, so do bear in mind that these are things that apply to my own life and not necessarily things that everyone should do all the time. I’m deathly afraid that posting stuff like this will reveal some hidden prejudice of mine, so please do point it out if I do. I try not to let fear dictate my actions.

Which brings me to my first life lesson:

Never let fear of the change process stop you from making a positive change.

I’m currently living in a one-bedroom apartment. A one-bedroom apartment ought to be space enough for two people who are sharing a bed (in the literal sense); however, I’ve struggled to get work done now that my weekdays are full of work and my weekends are full of two guys with plenty of time on their hands and a stack of video games to work through. For years I’ve wanted someplace I can call my own, a little office where I can put my many computers and my bookshelves and my craft table and not feel like I’m in the way or subject to too many distractions. Our lease lets us upgrade to a two-bedroom apartment at any time; in a few months, when I have my debts paid off, the extra cost for the second bedroom actually looks remarkably affordable.

I hate moving. My fiancee hates moving. Every time we’ve had to move it’s been a torturous process dragged out over a day or two full of whining and complaining and things breaking and way too much work for crippled little me. We could easily stay in our apartment until we’re ready to buy a house – what’s two or three years of inefficiency? I could learn to live with this uncomfortable lack of private space.

But the moving will take one day, and the extra space will provide benefits week after week. One day of discomfort versus years of having enough space. The choice is obvious when I phrase it that way.

Similarly, the choice to go on trips despite knowing that I’d be forced into far too much walking and be in pain for several days after was obvious: I might never get another chance to visit Paris or Rome or London or even Alton Towers theme park. The once-in-a-lifetime experience would stick with me long after the memory of the pain had faded.

I’m currently working as a contractor. While perfectly fine, the work I’m doing is not the kind of work I want to be doing for the rest of my life. If I were offered to stay on after my contract expired, I’d politely decline. Fear of the job-seeking process should not stop me from chasing more fulfilling work.

What holds you back from improving your own life?

This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Lessons: On Change

  1. Jarred H says:

    Anyway, the real point of the above paragraph is that I plan to start posting lessons I’ve learned from life and how I plan to apply them in the future. I have absolutely no idea if this will be useful to my readers or if I’ll come off as preachy or whatever, so do bear in mind that these are things that apply to my own life and not necessarily things that everyone should do all the time. I’m deathly afraid that posting stuff like this will reveal some hidden prejudice of mine, so please do point it out if I do. I try not to let fear dictate my actions.

    I can’t speak for anyone else, but I personally love blogs that do this kind of posts.

    Good on you for facing changes and the fears involved in doing so.

Leave a Reply

