Monday Musings

So much to do, and time passes so quickly these days…

Heard Maroon 5′s new song, “Payphone”, this morning. It wasn’t the first time I’d heard it, but it was the first time I’d heard it start to finish alone in the car so I could hear the lyrics. This bothered me:

I’ve wasted my nights
You turned out the lights
Now I’m paralyzed
Still stuck in that time
when we called it love,
but even the sun sets in Paradise

Words have meanings. The position of words can change their meanings. “Even the sun sets in Paradise” means “Among all other things that set in paradise, the sun sets also.” I don’t think that’s what you meant to say. I’m pretty sure you meant “The sun sets even in paradise” or “even in paradise, the sun sets”, which means “Among all the other places the sun sets, it sets in paradise also.”

Bah. Shoddy writing. It’s everywhere.

In other news, my bluetooth doesn’t seem to work right. I have an android phone, a “razr maxx”; when I press the button on my bluetooth, it (over the phone’s speaker) asks me to say a command. When I tell it to call someone, it then calls them on the phone itself, and I have to press the button a second time to transfer it to the bluetooth. Shouldn’t it be placing the call through the bluetooth, if not communicating with me through it? Is there some setting somewhere?

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Musings

  1. Brin says:

    Bah. Shoddy writing. It’s everywhere.

    Hmm…*listens to song* You might be able to fudge the pattern a bit and stick “the sun sets even in paradise” in there. Bit iffy, though. Probably just have to file it under “creative grammar out of necessity” with “a word or two that she gets from you could be the difference that it makes”.

  2. Ric says:

    Yeeeeah, I knew someone else had to notice this. I really like the song but that little phrase still bothers me. I’m thinking maybe the original was written correctly but the final version goes better with the melody so maybe they changed it thinking “hey, who cares about grammar anyway?”

  3. Matthew says:

    Totally agree. Enjoy the song but this line has always bothered me. Doesn’t make sense as it is written. Unfortunate because itt would be a great quotable line if it was written correctly.

  4. ironicstar says:

    I 100% agree. Grammar matters. For god sakes how would we have gotten here if we couldn’t communicate what we mean to others. Speech may not need grammar – but writing does. What is it teaching the kids learning grammar? Fuck it – the millionaires don’t need it – why do I? Gah.

Leave a Reply

